Skip to main content

Ashland - Local Town Pages

Crossover Ceremony held at Stone Park

By Patricia Roy
The skies threatened showers, but the day ended in ice cream and smiles as Cub Scout Pack 3001 held its annual Crossover Ceremony at Stone Park Gazebo on June 3.
Sixty-nine scouts “crossed over” to the next rank, earning a neckerchief with their new rank’s corresponding colors and logo. They also were awarded the badge for the rank that they’ve been working in all year.


Ranks begin with the youngest kindergarten age Cub Scouts designated as Lions, first graders as Tigers, second graders as Wolves, third graders as Bears, fourth graders as Webelos and fifth graders as Arrows of Light.
Cub Scout adult volunteer Michael Suarez explained the ceremony this way, “A second grader who’s spent the entire school year as a Wolf would be receiving the Wolf Badge he has been working on all year and crossing over (symbolized by walking over a wooden bridge) into the Bear rank and getting his Bear neckerchief.”
The scouts earned 350 achievements or completed activities over the school year and 15 adults were recognized for their service to the troop.
The Mayflower Council acknowledged Pack 3001’s Cubmaster Joe Stillitano as Cubmaster of the Year for the Eastern Massachusetts Headwaters District, comprising 12 towns.
The pack also welcomed Evan Lavidor who will take over as Cubmaster next year.
Stillitano, who served in that role for the past two years, gave some of the highlights of Pack 3001’s year including 33 new recruits, recognition as one of the best in the Mayflower Council, holiday sale of wreaths, Hanukkah candles and dreidels, Scouting for Food project stocking a food pantry, as well as monthly pack and den meetings. There were also favorite trips to remember like Cub Scout Night as Fenway Park, overnighters at Camp Nobscot and Camp Resolute and events like the Pinewood Derby and the annual fishing derby with Ashland Fish and Game.
Cub Scouts who earned the Lion rank: Benjamin Dacey, Carter Jutstrom, Lukas Kasprzyk, Nolan Morel, John Thomas, and Nathaniel Woodward. 
Completing the Tiger rank: Teddy Apostola, Lucas Cuccaro, Hayes Rubertone, Tristen Rubertone, Logan Smith and Benjamin Tempesta.
Wolf rank completed: Ian Andrade, Siddharth Grays, Vian Gupta, Jack Jutstrom, Anderson Kriete, Edward Kriete, Niyanth Kumar, Max MacDonald, Benjamin Morgan Parks, Stanley Petion, Jacob Portny, Luke Sullivan and James Klug.
Bear rank achieved: Samuel Collette, Evin Gunasekara, Virat Kopparapu, Omkar Kshirsagar, Ryan Lavidor, Kylar Smith, Aryaman Srinivasan, Shriyaan Yalla, Noah Romano.
Also, Gabriel Alpert, Jace Cutler, Jacob Feder-Ewell, Jacob Fellenbaum, Samuel Ferreira, William Kostic-Lepore, Christopher Mahoney, Cameron McCue, Patrick Morin, Owen Wainford and Andrew Suarez.
Webelos rank: Nathan Berry, Andrew Bialzik, Teddy Johnson, Alex Keegan, Benjamin Morgan, Jeff Petion, Theo Rocha, Alex Seater, Aegen Uvaraj and Jeffrey Stillitano.
Also: Andrew Kass-Newbury, Finley Martin, Mason Roscoe, Charles Tempesta, Aidan Wesolowski, Alexander Weymouth, Reid Wilson and Andrew Nye.